Cable Car World

With Cable Car World, an exclusive forum for the means of transport of the urban cable car will be offered for the first time. The two-day trade fair with integrated trade congress is planned for 08 and 09 February 2022. The venue is Messe Essen in the centre of the Metropole Ruhr, Germany's largest urban conurbation.


The starting point is the numerous considerations in Germany to also use urban cable cars in public transport in the future. While traffic on the terrestrial level is faltering, the focus in Europe and worldwide is increasingly on the plus-one level. This is where cable cars in particular operate, which are considered one of the safest means of transport and have been reliably in use at many locations for decades.


Despite the many advantages of a short construction time or positive environmental balance and the worldwide use of ropeways in urban areas, they are still a novelty as a component of public transport in Germany. A lack of know-how, legal ambiguities or difficulties in gaining acceptance have so far been seen as obstacles to implementation. Yet it is above all the simple overcoming of the zero level that promises new connections and relations in the urban context as well as new possibilities for the use of space.


It is now time to bring together the various players from science, business, planning, urban society, administration and politics to discuss how opportunities can be seized and obstacles overcome in the implementation of urban cable cars. At Cable Car World, all those interested in this topic will be offered the opportunity to inform themselves about the possibilities and perspectives of this urban means of transport and to exchange ideas..

 

On the one hand, the Cable Car Congress with lectures and panels by experts from science and practice will serve this purpose. On the other hand, exhibition areas for manufacturers, the supplier industry, cities and regions will provide space for profitable knowledge transfer and the presentation of their own projects and products.

Cable Car World

Mit der Cable Car World wird zum ersten Mal ein exklusives Forum für das Verkehrsmittel der urbanen Seilbahn angeboten. Die zweitägige Messe mit integriertem Fachkongress ist für den 08. und 09. Februar 2022 geplant. Veranstaltungsort ist die Messe Essen im Zentrum der Metropole Ruhr, dem größten urbanen Ballungsraum Deutschlands.

Ausgangspunkt sind die zahlreichen Überlegungen in Deutschland, zukünftig auch urbane Seilbahnen im öffentlichen Verkehr einzusetzen. Während der Verkehr auf dem terrestrischen Niveau stockt, richtet sich der Blick in Europa und weltweit verstärkt auf die Plus-Eins-Ebene. Dort verkehren insbesondere Seilbahnen, die als eines der sichersten Verkehrsmittel gelten und seit Jahrzehnten an vielen Standorten zuverlässig im Einsatz sind.

Trotz vieler Vorteile einer kurzen Bauzeit oder positiven Umweltbilanz und dem weltweiten Einsatz von Seilbahnen im urbanen Raum, sind diese als Bestandteil des ÖPNV in Deutschland bisher ein Novum. Fehlendes Know-how, rechtliche Unklarheiten oder Schwierigkeiten bei der Akzeptanzgewinnung gelten bisher als Umsetzungshindernisse. Dabei verspricht vor allem die einfache Überwindung der Null-Ebene neue Verbindungen und Relationen im städtischen Kontext sowie neue Möglichkeiten der Raumnutzung.

Es ist nun an der Zeit, die unterschiedlichen Handlungsträger aus Wissenschaft, Wirtschaft, Planung, Stadtgesellschaft, Administration und Politik zusammenzuführen, um gemeinsam zu erörtern, wie Chancen ergriffen und Hindernisse bei der Implementation urbaner Seilbahnen überwunden werden können. Auf der Cable Car World wird allen an diesem Thema Interessierten angeboten, sich über Möglichkeiten und Perspektiven dieses urbanen Verkehrsmittels zu informieren und auszutauschen.

 

Dazu dient zum einen der Cable Car Congress mit Vorträgen und Diskussionsrunden von Experten aus Wissenschaft und Praxis. Zum anderen ermöglichen Ausstellungsflächen für Hersteller, Zulieferindustrie, Städte und Regionen Raum für gewinnbringenden Wissenstransfer und die Präsentation eigener Projekte und Produkte.