Experts

Bild_093_CopyrightFotoeckeWangen_GeorgSchoepf.jpg

Georg Schöpf

Managing Director, Cable Car Solutions GmbH

Georg is a qualified electrical engineer who holds a master´s degree in ropeway management and has worked in the roles of operations director and managing director for 17 years in various ski areas and urban ropeways. His focus is operations and maintenance, as well as control and safety systems. Georg’s know-how provides a valuable contribution to optimizing business management aspects and customer focus. As a safety professional, he has a wealth of knowledge in occupational health and safety. Georg speaks German and English.

Day 1 & 2 | Mobility Lab 
Baum_edited_edited.jpg

Dr. Thomas Baum

Managing Director, VSU GmbH Consulting engineers for traffic, urban planning, environmental protection

VSU GmbH has been employing urban ropeways for around five years. At that time, following a tender competition, we received the order to draw up a feasibility study for an urban cable car in Bonn. Together with partners from ropeway technology and traffic modeling, we were able to demonstrate the usefulness of the ropeway planning approach for this task. Our focus is the weighing of the planning issues in the specific individual case and the uncovering of the planning-critical facts. 
With my doctorate in civil engineering and the diploma in spatial and environmental planning as well as practical planning experience in urban development, environmental impact assessment, in municipal traffic planning and traffic system planning, I combine the various subject areas that are necessary for the assessment of the planning tasks that arise. I presented the planning findings on urban cable cars in a summarizing article in the handbook of municipal transport planning in 2018. 

Day 1 & 2 | Mobility Lab
Juliane Gutgesell_edited.jpg

Juliane Gutgesell

Team leader industry innovation laboratories, House of Logistics & Mobility (HOLM) GmbH

The engineer has been in the mobility industry since the mid-2000s. Her areas of focus include railway technology and intelligent transport systems. Here she has always acted in an interdisciplinary manner and with a focus on the user interface, moderates between the different stakeholders and perspectives and is involved in the MINT junior field. At the HOLM, Juliane Gutgesell is the contact person for the industry innovation labs: the public transport lab, the first of its kind in Germany, was opened in 2019. This is where ideas, new concepts and business models for the public transport of the future are developed and tested. The ÖPNV-Lab acts across organizations and companies, is a trend platform, industry meeting point, source of inspiration and showroom for innovations. Current key themes are Mobility-as-a-Service, future road chains and innovative vehicle concepts. The lab pursues urban ropeway concepts in the Hessian area in close coordination with the FrankfurtRheinMain regional association, local public transport stakeholders and the Darmstadt University of Applied Sciences as a scientific partner.

Day 1 & 2 | Mobility Lab
20198 IS Schober Georg_edited.jpg

​Dr. Georg Schober

Head of the test center / notified body for cable cars at TÜV SÜD Industrie Service GmbH

Georg Schober is head of the testing and notified body for cable cars at TÜV SÜD Industrie Service GmbH. As an expert for ropeways, he has been involved in a large number of urban ropeway projects in Latin America and Asia. The cable car experts from TÜV SÜD take on all legally required tests and certifications that are necessary for the placing on the market and the safe operation of the systems. These include, for example, the acceptance tests and recurring tests of cable cars and funiculars as well as safety analyzes and safety reports.

Day 1 & 2 | Mobility Lab
CCW 2022.jpg

Ruben Ebersold

Speaker, Yunex Traffic a Siemens Business

As a long-term part of the project management for the operation, maintenance and repair of the funicular that runs at the Squaire Metro at Frankfurt Airport, Ruben Ebersold is one of the experts at Yunex, who has valuable experience in the passenger operation of cable cars and their successful integration into urban areas.

Day 1 & 2 | Mobility Lab
Niemann.png

Prof. Dr. Jörg Niemann

Professor of industrial engineering at the Düsseldorf University of Applied Sciences

Prof. Dr.-Ing. habil. Dipl.-Wirt.-Ing. Jörg Niemann has been a professor at the Düsseldorf University of Applied Sciences since 2012 for the teaching and research field of industrial engineering with a focus on production in the field of mechanical engineering and process engineering. Before that he was department head at ABB Automation GmbH and responsible for the development and sales of Life Cycle Services. Prof. Niemann is the executive director of the interdisciplinary research institute FMDauto and founder of the FLiX research center Life Cycle Excellence. Special focus areas are in the area of Life Cycle & Services Management as well as the evaluation and optimization of production systems using Lean Management methods.

Day 1 & 2 | Mobility Lab
Ing_edited.jpg

Daniel Mangold

Managing Director, Melzer & Hopfner Ingenieurgesellschaft mbH & Co.KG

Daniel Mangold enjoyed his training as an industrial engineer - with a focus on mechanical engineering - at the higher technical federal teaching and research institute in Bregenz (Austria) and graduated successfully in 2006. After 13 years of professional experience in the field of ropeway project planning and sales at a well-known ropeway manufacturer, Daniel Mangold and his partner Johannes Thißen MSc took over. the established cable car planning office Melzer & Hopfner in 2020.

Melzer & Hopfner Ingenieursgesellschaft mbH & Co.KG was founded in 1988 and is one of the leading specialist offices in the Alpine region when it comes to ski area planning and cable car planning. Internationally known destinations such as the Arlberg, the Skicircus Saalbach-Hinterglemm Leogang Fieberbrunn, Schladming, Flachau, Gastein but also the Feldberg in the Black Forest and many more are among the loyal customers.
Since its inception, the office has implemented around 300 cable car projects and created a large number of development concepts and feasibility studies.

Day 1 & 2 | Mobility Lab
Neumann_hohe%20Aufl%C3%B6sung_edited.jpg

Janosch Neumann

Lawyer and partner in the law firm Heinemann & Partner Rechtsanwälte

As a lawyer and partner in the law firm Heinemann & Partner in Essen and lecturer in building planning and building regulation law at the German Real Estate Academy at the University of Freiburg, Janosch Neumann has specialized in environmental, planning and infrastructure law, among other things. Here he advises infrastructure companies and the public sector, for example on questions of specialist planning law for highways and power lines, including planning approval. As a pioneer in the legal world, Neumann dealt early and intensively with the law of planning and approval for urban cable cars and published specialist articles on this, e.g. "Urban cable cars as a subject of planning approval law - innovative infrastructure or urban planning dreams". He is also part of the team of experts that supports the Dress & Sommer planning office and the Stuttgart Institute of Transport Research in the preparation of the guide "Urban cable cars in public transport - guidelines for the implementation of cable cars in German cities as part of public transport" on behalf of the Federal Ministry of Transport.

Day 1 & 2 | Mobility Lab
31_33-SI-Urban-1_21-Stephan-Salzmann-1-768x512_edited.jpg

Stephan Salzmann

Managing Director, Salzmann Engineers ZT GmbH

As an engineering company, we at Salzmann Ingenieure specialize in planning and projecting cable car systems and have created over 380 plans and studies over the past 50 years. Since we work independently of manufacturers right from the start, we can guarantee the greatest possible system and manufacturer openness, which is particularly important for feasibility studies in the public sector.

Our planning know-how includes all common cable car systems and the associated infrastructure. To cover the interfaces to urban development, spatial planning, architecture and traffic engineering, we can build on a strong network of efficient engineering companies in Germany and Austria.

Cableways are becoming increasingly popular in urban areas. Based on our original work focus in the alpine area, we have therefore already dealt extensively with the topic of urban cable cars in the context of studies and preliminary projects.

Day 1 & 2 | Mobility Lab
vonNell_Christoph1.jpg

Christoph von Nell

Head of division, spiekermann ingenieure GmbH

As an engineering office, we have been involved in traffic planning for decades, with strategic concepts, specific needs analyses, economic considerations right through to the planning and implementation of infrastructure. My personal focus is on the analysis of which transport systems are the right ones at which point, the quantification of potential demand and the assessment of economic appropriateness as a pre-requisite for financing infrastructure projects in municipal public transport. Cable cars are being rediscovered in Germany and Europe as a supple-mentary part of the urban transport system. With my team, I accompanied the cable car planning in Wuppertal and Bonn with potential studies and standardized assessments, which are now the template for the current extension of the procedural instructions. We have worked out the requirements for federal and state subsidies in this way. In Bonn, for the first time in Germany, a real urban cable car could become a reality.

Day 1 & 2 | Mobility Lab
sbec.jpg

Sebastian Beck

Associate partner at Drees & Sommer SE

Sebastian Beck studied infrastructure management at the University of Applied Sciences in Stuttgart. With the start of his practical study project in early 2008, he came to Drees & Sommer in Stuttgart. After holding various positions in the company, he took over responsibility for the Smart Infrastructure department at the Baden-Württemberg site in 2016. In July 2021, Sebastian Beck was appointed Associate Partner of Drees & Sommer SE.
 
Sebastian Beck is currently supporting various municipalities with challenges relating to sustainable mobility and urban cable cars and is project manager in the research project "Integration of urban cable cars in public transport" of the Federal Ministry for Digital Affairs and Transport. 

Day 1 & 2 | Mobility Lab

Experten

Bild_093_CopyrightFotoeckeWangen_GeorgSchoepf.jpg

Georg Schöpf

Geschäftsführer, Cable Car Solutions GmbH

Georg Schöpf blickt auf 20 Jahre Berufserfahrung als Betriebsleiter und Geschäftsführer von urbanen und alpinen Seilbahnbetrieben zurück. Sein Fokus liegt auf der umfassenden Implementierung von Seilbahnsystemen in ein bestehendes Umfeld. Sein Know-how leistet einen wertvollen Beitrag zur Optimierung der betriebswirtschaftlichen Aspekte und der erfolgreichen Kundenorientierung. Als Geschäftsführer des Allgäuer Unternehmens "Cable Car Solutions GmbH", mit Sitz in Heimenkirch, arbeitet er mit einem Team von Seilbahnexperten, welche die Fachexpertise des Seilbahnbetreibers, des Herstellers und der aktuellen Forschung vereint. Sein Team ist stets bestrebt nachhaltige, praxisorientierte, effiziente und vor allem maßgeschneiderte Lösungen anzubieten. Er ist ausgebildeter Elektroingenieur und hat ein Master-Studium in Seilbahnmanagement absolviert. Darüber hinaus verfügt er über umfangreiche Kenntnisse im Arbeitnehmerschutz und ist auch als Gerichtssachverständiger für Seilbahnbetrieb tätig. Georg Schöpf berät in deutscher und englischer Sprache.

Tag 1 & 2 | Mobility Lab  
Baum_edited_edited.jpg

Dr. Thomas Baum

Geschäftsführer, VSU GmbH Beratende Ingenieure für Verkehr, Städtebau, Umweltschutz

Urbane Seilbahnen beschäftigen die VSU GmbH seit etwa fünf Jahren. Damals bekamen wir nach Ausschreibungswettbewerb den Auftrag, eine Machbarkeitsstudie für eine urbane Seilbahn in Bonn zu erstellen. Gemeinsam mit Partnern aus der Seilbahntechnik und Verkehrs-modellierung konnten wir die Sinnhaftigkeit des Planungsansatzes Seilbahn für diese Aufgabenstellung darlegen. Unser Schwerpunkt ist die Abwägung der planerischen Fragestellungen im konkreten Einzelfall und das Aufdecken der planungskritischen Sachverhalte. 
Ich selbst verknüpfe durch die Promotion im Bauingenieurwesen und das Diplom in Raum- und Umweltplanung sowie die planungspraktische Erfahrung im Städtebau, der Umweltverträglichkeitsprüfung, in der kommunalen Verkehrsplanung sowie der Verkehrsanlagenplanung die verschiedenen Sachgebiete, die für die Beurteilung der auftretenden planerischen Aufgaben erforderlich sind. Die Planungserkenntnisse zu urbanen Seilbahnen habe ich in einem zusammenfassenden Artikels im Handbuch der kommunalen Verkehrsplanung im Jahr 2018 aufgezeigt. 

Tag 1 & 2 | Mobility Lab
20198 IS Schober Georg_edited.jpg

Dr. Georg Schober

Leiter der Prüfstelle / Benannten Stelle für Seilbahnen der TÜV SÜD Industrie Service GmbH

Georg Schober ist Leiter der Prüfstelle & Notifizierten Stelle für Seilbahnen der TÜV SÜD Industrie Service GmbH. Als Sachverständiger für Seilbahnen war er bisher in einer Vielzahl von urbanen Seilbahnprojekten in Lateinamerika und Asien involviert. Die Seilbahn-Experten von TÜV SÜD übernehmen alle gesetzlich vorgeschriebenen Prüfungen und Zertifizierungen, die für das Inverkehrbringen und den sicheren Betrieb der Anlagen nötig sind. Dazu zählen beispielsweise die Abnahme-prüfungen und wiederkehrenden Prüfungen von Seilbahnen und Standseilbahnen sowie Sicherheitsanalysen und Sicherheitsberichte.

Tag 1 & 2 | Mobility Lab
Juliane Gutgesell_edited.jpg

Juliane Gutgesell

Teamleitung Brancheninnovationslabore, House of Logistics & Mobility (HOLM) GmbH

Die Ingenieurin ist seit Mitte der 2000er Jahre in der Mobilitätsbranche unterwegs. Zu ihren Schwerpunkten zählen Bahntechnik und intelligente Verkehrssysteme. Hier agiert sie seit jeher interdisziplinär und mit Fokus auf der Nutzerschnittstelle, moderiert zwischen den unterschiedlichen Stakeholdern und Perspektiven und engagiert sich im MINT-Nachwuchsbereich. Am HOLM ist Juliane Gutgesell Ansprechpartnerin für die Brancheninnovationslabore: das ÖPNV-Lab als erstes deutschland-weites seiner Art wurde 2019 eröffnet. Hier werden Ideen, neue Konzepte und Geschäftsmodelle für den ÖPNV der Zukunft entwickelt und verprobt. Das ÖPNV-Lab agiert organisations- und unternehmens-übergreifend, ist Trendplattform, Branchentreffpunkt, Impulsgeber und Showroom für Innovationen. Aktuelle Leitthemen sind Mobility-as-a-Service, Wegeketten der Zukunft und innovative Fahrzeugkonzepte. Urbane Seilbahnkonzepte verfolgt das Lab im hessischen Raum in enger Abstimmung mit dem Regionalverband FrankfurtRheinMain, lokalen ÖPNV-Akteuren und der Hochschule Darmstadt als Wissenschaftspartner.

Tag 1 & 2 | Mobility Lab
CCW 2022.jpg

Ruben Ebersold

Referent, Yunex Traffic a Siemens Business

Als langjähriger Teil der Projektleitung für Betrieb, Wartung und Instandhaltung der Standseilbahn, die am Squaire Metro am Frankfurter Flughafen verkehrt, ist Ruben Ebersold einer der Experten von Yunex, der über wertvolle Erfahrungen zum Fahrgastbetrieb von Seilbahnen und ihrer erfolgreichen Integration in den urbanen Raum verfügt.

Tag 1 & 2 | Mobility Lab
Niemann.png

Prof. Dr. Jörg Niemann

Professor für Wirtschaftsingenieurwesen an der Hochschule Düsseldorf

Prof. Dr.-Ing. habil. Dipl.-Wirt.-Ing. Jörg Niemann ist seit 2012 Professor an der Hochschule Düsseldorf für das Lehr- und Forschungsgebiet Wirtschaftsingenieurwesen mit Ausrichtung auf die Produktion im Fachbereich Maschinenbau und Verfahrenstechnik. Zuvor war er Abteilungsleiter bei der ABB Automation GmbH und verantwortlich für die Entwicklung und den Vertrieb von Life Cycle Services. Prof. Niemann ist geschäftsführender Vorstand des interdisziplinären Forschungsinstitut FMDauto sowie Gründer des FLiX-Forschungsstelle Life Cycle Excellence. Besondere Arbeitsschwerpunkte liegen im Bereich des Life Cycle & Services Managements sowie der Bewertung und Optimierung von Produktionssystemen durch Methoden des Lean Managements.

Tag 1 & 2 | Mobility Lab
Ing_edited.jpg

Daniel Mangold

Geschäftsführer, Melzer & Hopfner Ingenieurgesellschaft mbH & Co.KG

Daniel Mangold genoss seine Ausbildung zum Wirtschaftsingenieur - Schwerpunkt Maschinenbau - an der Höheren Technischen Bundeslehr- und Versuchsanstalt in Bregenz (Österreich) und schloss diese im Jahr 2006 erfolgreich ab. Nach 13 jähriger Berufserfahrung im Bereich der Seilbahnprojektierung und dem Verkauf bei einem renommierten Seilbahnhersteller übernahm Daniel Mangold gemeinsam mit seinem Kompagnon Johannes Thißen MSc. das etablierte Seilbahnplanungsbüro Melzer & Hopfner im Jahre 2020.

Die Melzer&Hopfner Ingenieursgesellschaft mbH & Co.KG wurde 1988 gegründet und zählt im Alpenraum zu den führenden Fachbüros in Sachen Schigebietsplanung und Seilbahnplanung. International bekannte Destinationen wie der Arlberg, der Skicircus Saalbach-Hinterglemm Leogang Fieberbrunn, Schladming, Flachau, Gastein aber auch der Feldberg im Schwarzwald u.v.m. zählen zu den treuen Kunden.
Das Büro hat seit Bestehen ca. 300 Seilbahnprojekte realisiert und eine Vielzahl an Erschließungskonzepten bzw. Machbarkeitsstudien erstellt.

Tag 1 & 2 | Mobility Lab
Neumann_hohe%20Aufl%C3%B6sung_edited.jpg

Janosch Neumann

Rechtsanwalt und Partner in der Kanzlei Heinemann & Partner Rechtsanwälte

Als Rechtsanwalt und Partner in der Kanzlei Heinemann & Partner in Essen und Lehrbeauftragter für das Bauplanungs- und Bauordnungsrecht der Dt. Immobilien-Akademie an der Universität Freiburg hat sich Janosch Neumann u.a. auf das Umwelt- und Planungs- sowie das Infrastrukturrecht spezialisiert. Hier berät er Infrastrukturunternehmen und die öffentliche Hand z.B. in Fragen des Fachplanungsrechts für Fernstraßen und Energieleitungen einschließlich Planfeststellung. Als Vorreiter in der juristischen Fachwelt hat sich Neumann bereits früh und intensiv mit dem Recht der Planung und Genehmigung für urbane Seilbahnen auseinandergesetzt und hierzu Fachbeiträge veröffentlicht, z.B. „Urbane Seilbahnen als Gegenstand des Planfeststellungsrechts – Innovative Infrastruktur oder stadtplanerische Träumerei“. Er ist zudem im Expertenteam, welches das Planungsbüro Dress & Sommer sowie das Verkehrswissenschaftliche Institut Stuttgart bei der Erstellung des Leitfadens „Urbane Seilbahnen im ÖPNV – Leitfaden für die Implementierung von Seilbahnen in deutschen Städten als Bestandteil des ÖPNV“ im Auftrag des Bundesverkehrsministeriums unterstützt.

Tag 1 & 2 | Mobility Lab
31_33-SI-Urban-1_21-Stephan-Salzmann-1-768x512_edited.jpg

Stephan Salzmann

Geschäftsführer, Salzmann Ingenieure ZT GmbH

Wir von Salzmann Ingenieure sind als Ingenieurunternehmen auf die Planung und Projektierung von Seilbahnanlagen spezialisiert und haben in den letzten 50 Jahren über 380 Planungen und Studien erstellt. Da wir von Beginn an herstellerunabhängig arbeiten, können wir eine größtmögliche System- und Herstelleroffenheit gewährleisten, was für Machbarkeits-studien im öffentlichen Bereich besonders wichtig ist.

Unser Planungs-Know-How umfasst alle gängigen Seilbahnsysteme und die dazu gehörende Infrastruktur. Zur Abdeckung der Schnittstellen zu Städtebau, Raumplanung, Architektur und Verkehrstechnik können wir auf ein starkes Netzwerk leistungsfähiger Ingenieurunternehmen in Deutschland und Österreich aufbauen.

Seilbahnen werden zunehmend im urbanen Bereich aktuell. Ausgehend von unserem ursprünglichen Arbeitsschwerpunkt im alpinen Bereich haben wir uns daher im Rahmen von Studien und Vorprojekten bereits eingehend mit der Thematik urbaner Seilbahnen beschäftigt.

Tag 1 & 2 | Mobility Lab
vonNell_Christoph1.jpg

Christoph von Nell

Geschäftsbereichsleiter, spiekermann ingenieure gmbh

Seit Jahrzehnten sind wir als Ingenieurbüro in der Verkehrsplanung engagiert mit Strategischen Konzepten, konkreten Bedarfsanalysen, wirtschaftlichen Betrachtungen bis hin zur Planung und Realisierung von Infrastruktur. Mein persönlicher Schwerpunkt liegt in der Analyse, welche Verkehrssysteme an welcher Stelle die richtigen sind, der Quantifizierung von Nachfragepotenzialen und der Beurteilung zur ökonomischen Angemessenheit als Voraussetzung für die Finanzierung von Infrastrukturvorhaben im kommunalen ÖPNV. Seilbahnen werden in Deutschland und Europa neu entdeckt als ergänzender Teil des urbanen Verkehrssystems. Mit meinem Team habe ich die Seilbahnplanungen in Wuppertal und Bonn mit Potenzialuntersuchungen und Standardisierten Bewertungen begleitet, die nun Vorlage für die aktuelle Erweiterung der Verfahrensanleitung sind. Die Voraussetzungen für Fördermittel von Bund und Land haben wir so erarbeitet. In Bonn könnte nun erstmals in Deutschland eine echte urbane Seilbahn Realität werden.

Tag 1 & 2 | Mobility Lab
sbec.jpg

Sebastian Beck

Associate Partner bei Drees & Sommer SE

Sebastian Beck studierte Infrastrukturmanagement an der Hochschule für Technik in Stuttgart. Mit Beginn seines praktischen Studienprojekts Anfang 2008 kam er zu Drees & Sommer in Stuttgart. Nach verschiedenen Positionen im Unternehmen übernahm er im Jahr 2016 die Verantwortung für den Bereich Smart Infrastructure am Standort in Baden-Württemberg. Im Juli 2021 wurde Sebastian Beck zum Associate Partner der Drees & Sommer SE ernannt.
 
Sebastian Beck begleitet aktuell verschiedene Kommunen bei Herausforderungen rund um nachhaltige Mobilität, urbane Seilbahnen und ist Projektleiter im Forschungsprojekt "Integration urbaner Seilbahnen in den ÖPNV" des Bundesministeriums für Digitales und Verkehr. 

Tag 1 & 2 | Mobility Lab